The Dress Doctor

I first heard of Edith Head a couple of years ago, when my uncle started sending me fashion magazines from the USA. In one of our chats, we’d talked about fashion films; we both love movies. He said he would try to find a few Edith Head movies to send me. I looked her up immediately and I was shocked.

34 Academy Award nominations. 34.Who does that? And who actually wins 8 of them?

I found a few of her famous quotes, read a bit about her relationships with the amazing people she dressed (Everyone from Audrey Hepburn to Zsa Zsa Gabor), wrote down the names of a handful of the 437 films and TV shows she worked on, and resolved to do more investigation later. I didn’t do much; she came up in a fashion history project once, but that was it. Then yesterday, I found myself in the fashion section of my campus library, looking for something to occupy me while I get my hair done today – it’s always a whole day affair. I found this:

Edith Head Dress Doctor

The Dress Doctor – an adaptation of the Edith Head bestseller.

 

Perfect, I thought. It’s time I got to know the Dress Doctor a little better. 

Continue reading